• You can now apply for Skinny Gossip membership online. Click here to begin.
  • We are getting a lot more membership applications than we expected. Be patient while we work through the pile. DO NOT submit a second application!!

Paris Haute Couture S/S 2013

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
Schedule:

Sunday, January 20, 2013
Atelier Versace

Monday, January 21, 2013
10:30 CET / 04:30am EST – Bouchra Jarrar
11:30 CET / 05:30am EST – Christophe Josse
12:30 CET / 06:30am EST – Maurizio Galante
14:30 CET / 08:30am EST – Christian Dior
16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Iris Van Herpen
17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Christian Dior
18:30 CET / 12:30pm EST – Alexis Mabille
19:30 CET / 01:30pm EST – Giambattista Valli
20:30 CET / 02:30pm EST – Adeline André

Tuesday, January 22, 2013
10:00 CET / 04:00am EST – Chanel
12:00 CET / 06:00am EST – Chanel
14:30 CET / 08:30am EST – Stéphane Rolland
15:30 CET / 09:30am EST – Atelier Gustavolins
16:30 CET / 10:30am EST – Giorgio Armani Privé
17:30 CET / 11:30am EST – Givenchy
18:30 CET / 12:30pm EST – Alexandre Vauthier
19:30 CET / 01:30pm EST – Julien Fournié

Wednesday, January 23, 2013
10:00 CET / 04:00am EST – On Aura Tout Vu By Yassen Samouilov And Livia Stoianova
11:00 CET / 05:00am EST – Frank Sorbier
12:30 CET / 06:30am EST – Elie Saab
13:30 CET / 07:30am EST – Yiqing Yin
14:30 CET / 08:30am EST – Jean Paul Gaultier
16:00 CET / 10:00am EST – Maison Rabih Kayrouz
18:00 CET / 12:00pm EST – Valentino
19:30 CET / 01:30am EST – Maison Martin Margiela

Thursday, January 24, 2013
10:00 CET / 04:00am EST – Boucheron, Chanel Joaillerie, Dior Joaillerie
11:00 CET / 05:00am EST – Lefranc.Ferrant
12:00 CET / 06:00am EST – Zuhair Murad
14:00 CET / 08:00am EST – Hervé L.Leroux
15:00 CET / 09:00am EST – Rad Hourani
 

Moon

Rookie
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Posts
819
Karma
113
Looking forward to Iris van Herpen, Givenchy, Elie Saab and MMM especially!
 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
Ugh, I made a mistake. The schedule was released before Givenchy confirmed that they weren't making couture collections anymore. No Givenchy this HC season :(
 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
Atelier Versace...tacky as usual. Thank you Donatella for bringing to life some of the ugliest dresses I have ever seen, in the most repulsive fluorescent colors imaginable.




The sketch for Kati's dress was beautiful though


The shoulder pads were unnecessary. Joan's dress would look absolutely stunning without the shoulder pads, but that should be easy to fix.



This looks like she bedazzled a rug


The only thing I liked was the makeup. I really like the jewel-tone accents on the eyes. Pat McGrath did a great job.
 

Moon

Rookie
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Posts
819
Karma
113
Atelier Versace...tacky as usual. Thank you Donatella for bringing to life some of the ugliest dresses I have ever seen, in the most repulsive fluorescent colors imaginable.

The sketch for Kati's dress was beautiful though

The shoulder pads were unnecessary. Joan's dress would look absolutely stunning without the shoulder pads, but that should be easy to fix.

This looks like she bedazzled a rug

The only thing I liked was the makeup. I really like the jewel-tone accents on the eyes. Pat McGrath did a great job.
All very true statements :lol:
 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
IvH, Valli and the immutable JPG for me! p.s. thanks or posting updates, @71000!
No problem. I love looking at the gorgeous dresses anyway, even if I could sell my arm and still not have enough money to buy them :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
Iris Van Herpen (the collection only had 11 looks)

 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011


Love the first, ninth, and final look :luv: This collection perfectly shows why her clothes end up in museums.
 
B

Babydoll

Guest
Remember how earlier this year I said I liked Raf for Dior?



Screw that. It got boring, underwhelming, and as the example above indicates: ugly. :rolleyes:

The only things I liked from the show were: some of the shoes, Vlada :luv: and maybe this dress.
 
B

Babydoll

Guest
I liked Alexis Mabille (the runway was pink!). Some looks were dreamy, whimsical and feminine. Others just plain tacky and the hair just looked like a bad idea.

Because, really? This is just fugly



These I loved though

 

xoxoadore

Worker Bee
Joined
May 14, 2012
Posts
673
Karma
185
Location
Puerto Rico
Remember how earlier this year I said I liked Raf for Dior?



Screw that. It got boring, underwhelming, and as the example above indicates: ugly. :rolleyes:

The only things I liked from the show were: some of the shoes, Vlada :luv: and maybe this dress.
the venue and soundtrack were flawless. I must admit the handwork that went into those garments was immaculate and this is haute couture, I am just tired of seeing the same siluettes tbh but aesthetically, it was beautiful.
 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
LAGERFELD SUPPORTS GAY MARRIAGE IN LESBIAN COUTURE
Chanel's veteran couturier Karl Lagerfeld has used fashion to support a controversial French gay marriage law — sending two brides together down the catwalk.

Two models donned couture bridal gowns to cap Paris' Grand Palais fashion show, accompanied by Lagerfeld's young nephew.

"I don't even understand the debate. Since 1904 (in France) the church and state have been separate," Lagerfeld said after Tuesday's show.

The German-born designer also hit out against the "intolerance" of religion.

"If (those against) want a sacred religious union, (they can) in the church, temple, cathedral, synagogue or mosque."

However, Lagerfeld said he was opposed to gay couples being allowed to adopt children.

French President François Hollande is meeting with opponents of the proposed law on Friday.
associated press

This was my favorite look
 

Allie

Worker Bee
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Posts
1,465
Karma
322
Location
Toronto


Love the first, ninth, and final look :luv: This collection perfectly shows why her clothes end up in museums.
5, 8 and 9 are divine. Now THAT is artistry.


Also, @Babydoll, I agree that Raf for Dior was super underwhelming. It was a bit too obvious and literal.


There were only 3 things I liked.

1) The very structured, layered look below (on the right), even though it's not very Dior-esque.



Also, as far as his flower theme goes, I found the outfit second from the left, below, to be appropriately subtle and reimagined (plus the peach colour is one of my favourites, and it's very wearable):



And the colour and lay of the fabric on this dress looks sort of like a delicious meringue, and I like it's understated elegance, plus the very fitting Dior-appropos silohuette it creates:

 
Last edited by a moderator:
B

Babydoll

Guest
I usually don't like Karl's most recent Chanel but I must admit I liked this one. It had this very young school girl vibe but still very classic, elegant and sophisticared. Very Chanel :lol:

 

71000

Super Star
Joined
May 11, 2012
Posts
4,758
Karma
1,011
The detailing on this dress and veil is just remarkable :wtf: I can't imagine how long that took. Not a fan of the shape though.

 

skinnylegs

Rookie
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Posts
500
Karma
75
Location
Europe
Remember how earlier this year I said I liked Raf for Dior?



Screw that. It got boring, underwhelming, and as the example above indicates: ugly. :rolleyes:

The only things I liked from the show were: some of the shoes, Vlada :luv: and maybe this dress.
My thoughts exactly I only liked the gloves