Sample Size/The true size "ZERO"

Artemis

Community Duchess
Nov 16, 2012
NYC
Hoping to solicit the insight of models and other "industry" buffs, I have been wondering, for ages, what the dimensions for a true [high fashion] designer sample size/runway size are? Spurned models, a la Coco Rochas and Crystal Renn, pool the blame for their crumbling careers on clothes that are made "so small."

I want to know, precisecly--in numbers (BHW, Thigh, and Inseam), what "so small" really is.

Help a brother* out?

*Well, technically "sister"

Relief

After digging through old posts, I've found my answer, provided expertly by FashionThin. Sorry for the thread of an old topic; I'm new with interface/forum.

"Many of our high end / couture clients want 22" waists these days, sample/fitting sizes seem to be getting a little smaller every season. When I first started in the business, 23-24 was perfect for sample, even high end. The ideal runway stats seemed to be 30-32/23-24/33-34. Now it's more like 28-30/22-23/32-33 or even smaller.

But waist-wise, they are asking for 22-23 much more commonly. By the way, I'm talking about NY/Milan/Paris. In Asia it's even smaller and getting extreme due to the stranger fetishy pop culture influences in the fashion industry there (loli, anime, etc). Lately in Tokyo it's almost like, if the designer can't close their hands around a girl's waist they act like she's a whale. I know some of you are working in Asia so you can probably attest to this.

SWIM has a girl on their board with a 20" waist, and TBH that is the only special thing about her. She's a bit older, and her look is dull. But she is getting tons of work. And it's like giving the client heroin, because they keep coming back now "do you have any other girls her size"... and, a competing agency just signed another 20" waist.

Overall I believe it truly is a counter-cultural reaction to western obesity and excess.